+ Weitere Zimmer hinzufügen


Transport

So finden Sie sich in London zurecht

Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London befindet sich an der London Bridge Station und ist dadurch hervorragend angebunden: Über 54 Millionen Menschen nutzen die Station jedes Jahr über U- und Eisenbahn, Straßen- und Wassertaxis, Busse, Fähren, Fahrräder und Fußgängerwege. Der Bahnhof bietet direkte Zuganbindung an 247 Ziele.

Die „Tube“ verbindet Sie direkt mit 61 U-Bahn-Stationen an den Linien Northern und Jubilee und bringt Sie in unter 10 Minuten in die wichtigsten Viertel Londons – Bond Street mit seinen vielen Geschäften im Westen, die City im Norden und Canary Wharf im Osten.

Für internationale Anbindung sorgt das Londoner Flughafennetzwerk und das 15 Minuten entfernte Eurostar-Terminal der St. Pancras Station.

Taxis

Die Londoner „Black Cabs“ zählen zu den berühmtesten Symbolen der Hauptstadt. Sie können auf der Straße gerufen oder von einer bestimmten Taxizone aus genommen werden. Die Fahrer müssen eine umfangreiche Ausbildung namens „The Knowledge“ absolvieren, bevor sie eine Lizenz bekommen und alle Fahrzeuge werden regelmäßig inspiziert. Die Nutzung anderer Taxis wird nicht empfohlen, außer sie werden vom Concierge organisiert.

Öffentlicher Nahverkehr

Das öffentliche Verkehrsnetz in London gehört zu den größten der Welt und umfasst Busse, Züge, Wassertaxis und die berühmte London Underground, auch „Tube“ genannt. Die London Travelcard gilt für alle öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel und macht Sightseeing entspannter und kostengünstiger.

Bus
Das Busnetzwerk in London gehört zu den größten der Welt. Circa 7.500 der berühmten roten Busse transportieren jeden Werktag sechs Millionen Passagiere durch alle Teile von Greater London.

Rail
London Overground sind die Pendlerzüge für die Londoner Vorstädte. Sie führen durch 21 der 33 Londoner Boroughs sowie Watfort und Hertfortshire. Nach der Vollendung der Verbindung zwischen Clapham Junction und Surrey Quays leben nun 30 Prozent der Londoner weniger als 15 Minuten von einer Overground-Station entfernt.

Wassertaxi
Das Thames-Clippers-Wassertaxi-Netzwerk verfügt über eine moderne Flotte klimatisierter Hochgeschwindigkeitsboote mit konkurrenzloser Pünktlichkeit und Verlässlichkeit. Die Verbindungen werden nur selten wegen schlechtem Wetter unterbrochen und alle Gäste haben Anspruch auf einen Sitzplatz.

Metro
Die Londoner U-Bahn befördert mit ihren 11 Linien und 270 Stationen über eine Milliarde Fahrgäste im Jahr, also dreieinhalb Millionen täglich.

National Rail ist die allgemeine Bezeichnung für den Personenzugverkehr in Großbritannien. Weitere Informationen über Angebote und Fahrpläne erhalten Sie auf www.nationalrail.co.uk/.

Kreuzfahrten und Schiffe

Southampton Cruise Terminal und Fähren nach Europa – 132 km
Southampton an der englischen Südküste war immer der wichtigste Hafen für die Ozeanriesen des British Empire und die Passagierschiffe nach Nordamerika. Heute ist hier der wichtigste britische Hafen für Kreuzfahrtschiffe. Für die meisten Passagiere ist es der erste oder letzte Hafen einer Europakreuzfahrt oder Atlantiküberquerung. Besondere Bekanntheit erlange er als Heimathafen der Queen Mary 2 sowie vieler anderer Schiffe des boomenden europäischen Kreuzfahrtmarkts. Die wichtigsten Reedereien sind Cunard, Fred Olsen, Royal Caribbean, P&O Cruises und Saga Cruises.

Dover Cruise Terminal und Fähren nach Europa – 123 km
123 km östlich von London liegt Dover mit seinem bedeutenden Hafen (sowohl für Kreuzfahrtschiffe als auch für reguläre Schiffe). Die Stadt gilt als Englands Tor zu Europa.

Örtliches Klima
Monat Hoch Tief
Januar 8.3ºC 2.6ºC
Februar 8.5ºC 2.4ºC
März 11.4ºC 4.1ºC
April 14.2ºC 5.4ºC
Mai 17.7ºC 8.4ºC
Juni 20.7ºC 11.5ºC
Juli 23.2ºC 13.9ºC
August 22.9ºC 13.7ºC
September 20.1ºC 11.2ºC
Oktober 15.6ºC 8.3ºC
November 11.4ºC 5.1ºC
Dezember 8.6ºC 2.8ºC

Transportation

Know your way around London

Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London is located at London Bridge Station, which offers great connectivity: Over 54 million people travel through each year by underground and main line trains, road and water taxis, buses, ferries, cycle and pedestrian routes. The train station offers direct links to 247 main line destinations.

The tube offers direct access to 61 underground stations on the Northern and Jubilee lines, connecting to London's key districts – Bond Street and its shops to the west, the City to the north and Canary Wharf to the east – in less than 10 minutes.

International connectivity is accessible through the capital's airport network and the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras Station, 15 minutes away.

Taxis

London's black cabs are one of the capital’s most iconic symbols. They can be hailed on the street or taken from a designated taxi rank. Drivers have to undergo a stringent training course called “The Knowledge” before being given a license and all cars are checked on a regular basis. It is not advisable to take any other taxis unless organised by the concierge.

Public Transport

London Public Transport Network is one of the largest in the world with access to Buses, Overground Trains, River Taxis, National Rail services and the famous London Underground or 'tube'. A London Travelcard, covering all modes of public transport, will make the sightseeing experience more relaxing and cost efficient.

Bus
London Buses represent one of the largest bus networks in the world. Approximately 7,500 iconic red buses carry more than six million passengers each weekday on a network serving all parts of Greater London.

Rail
London Overground is the suburban network of rail services. It travels through 21 of London's 33 boroughs, as well as Watford in Hertfordshire. Following the completion of the link between Clapham Junction and Surrey Quays, 30 percent of all Londoners are less than a 15 minute walk from an Overground station.

River Taxi
Thames Clippers River Taxi network operates a modern fleet of climate controlled high speed vessels, offering unrivalled reliability and punctuality. Existing services are rarely disrupted by adverse weather conditions and passengers are guaranteed a seat.

Metro
The London Underground carries more than one billion passengers a year, with around three and a half million journeys made each day, on 11 lines serving 270 stations. On 9 January 2013, London Underground celebrated 150 years since the first underground journey took place between Paddington and Farringdon on the Metropolitan Railway.

National Rail is a generic term to define the passenger rail services operated in Great Britain. For more information on services and schedules, please visit www.nationalrail.co.uk/.

Cruise and Sea Access

Southampton Cruise Terminal and Ferries to Europe – 132 km
On the south coast of England, Southampton served as Britain's historic ocean liner gateway for the British Empire and the intense North Atlantic passenger trade to the U.S. and Canada. Today it is the U.K.'s leading cruise port. For most passengers, it is the first and/or last port on a European cruise or Atlantic crossing. Best known as the homeport of Cunard's Queen Mary 2, it now hosts a wide variety of ships in the booming European cruise market. The principal lines are Cunard, Fred Olsen, Royal Caribbean, P&O Cruises and Saga Cruises.

Dover Cruise Terminal and Ferries to Europe – 123 km
Located 76 miles (122 kilometers) to the east of London, Dover is a major passenger cruise port (for cruise ferries as well as conventional ships). It is considered England's gateway to Europe.

Local Climate
Month High Low
Jan 8.3ºC 2.6ºC
Feb 8.5ºC 2.4ºC
Mar 11.4ºC 4.1ºC
Apr 14.2ºC 5.4ºC
May 17.7ºC 8.4ºC
Jun 20.7ºC 11.5ºC
Jul 23.2ºC 13.9ºC
Aug 22.9ºC 13.7ºC
Sep 20.1ºC 11.2ºC
Oct 15.6ºC 8.3ºC
Nov 11.4ºC 5.1ºC
Dec 8.6ºC 2.8ºC