Press Release

+ 添加房间


Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, Penang Wins ASEAN MICE Venue Standard Award

Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, Penang Wins ASEAN MICE Venue Standard Award

Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa has been honoured as an ASEAN MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conference and Exhibitions) Venue Standard Award destination. The award was presented to the resort by Dato’ Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz, Malaysia’s minister of tourism and culture during the Annual ASEAN Tourism Forum (ATF) & Culture held in Chiang Mai, Thailand recently.

The ASEAN Tourism Standards Awards had seven categories. The ASEAN MICE Venue Standard Award was introduced this year to recognise and honour outstanding ASEAN businesses and destinations that comply with the standardisation of tourism services essential for enhancing the quality of tourism products and services, in addition to responsible management practices among stakeholders in the region’s tourism industry.

“It is truly a great honour for Shangri-La’s Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa to be recognised as an ASEAN MICE Venue Standard destination. We have always advocated constant upgrading of physical setting, technology and services as spelled out in the ASEAN MICE Venue Standard criteria. This award is the recognition and encouragement of our efforts to continually improve available facilities and services, especially for meetings and events, so that we remain competitive,” said Elaine Yue, the resort’s general manager. “We always strive to be innovative with our meeting options. Our signature meeting offers include “Sunglasses at Work” and “Green Meetings”, providing meeting delegates an alternative to their usual corporate events through the option of minimising the environmental impact of their activities.”

The ATF is a significant annual tourism promotional events in Asia, and is hosted on a rotational basis among the ASEAN member countries. It consists of numerous high-level events, including a meeting of ASEAN tourism ministers, a meeting of the ASEAN’s NTOs, as well as airline meetings, a press briefing, tourism conference and the popular Travel Exchange (TRAVEX) trade fair organised annually by the ministry of tourism from 10 ASEAN member countries, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman


(60 4) 888 8650


槟城香格里拉沙洋度假酒店 Batu Feringgi Beach, 11100 Penang, Malaysia