香格里拉人文关怀项目

改善槟城儿童生活

槟城香格里拉沙洋度假酒店

槟城香格里拉沙洋度假酒店已将槟城Shan儿童之家纳入人文关怀项目的受益者。该儿童之家接收来自问题家庭,主要是单亲家庭的儿童,其父母因经济原因或身体原因无法照顾孩子。
度假酒店关爱该儿童之家的目的非常简单,帮助孩子们,使其能够在离家后融入社会。最重要的是,度假酒店希望授予孩子一定的技能,帮助他们从贫困的恶性循环中走出来。

获得基本的权利
迄今为止,度假酒店已先后进行了消防生命安全项目,包括制定火灾逃生路线和教育孩子们安全逃生的过程;食品卫生项目,父母和护理人员参加了食品安全和处理课程。
多年来,度假酒店对儿童之家进行了多次结构上的升级,如橱柜和储存空间的建设。为了契合酒店的节能措施,我们还制订了将儿童之家的荧光灯更换为节能灯泡的计划。

趣味学习
度假酒店与高地国际学校合作,孩子们现已可以在学校的游泳池学习游泳课程。游泳是孩子们不可错过的一项基本生活技能。其他项目包括为期12周的工艺品制作课程,外展训练营以及教育孩子们学会回收的回收项目。
即将开展的项目包括防止孩子们成为网络犯罪受害者的“网络安全”课程;为期8课时的“Building Champions”系列课程,其中包括学习如何使用公共交通工具、人际交往、仪容仪表及个人卫生、个人理财和节约等孩子们从儿童之家离开后需要掌握的重要生活技能。

志愿服务
度假酒店鼓励员工志愿付出时间向孩子们传授他们掌握的知识和技能。员工志愿者还在酒店企业社会责任经理的支持和协助下,为儿童之家发起和推动了自己的志愿项目。斋月期间,同事们在儿童之家举办了“BukaPuasa”(禁食)活动,帮助孩子们出售工艺品。

奉献您的支持
您可以通过捐赠实物或现金支持儿童之家,或抽时间向孩子们传授重要的生活技能。欲了解更多详情,请致电(60 4) 888 8652或发送电邮至elizabeth.liew@shangri-la.com联系我们的企业社会责任经理。

Embrace

Improving Livelihoods in Penang

Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, Penang

Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa has adopted Penang Shan Children’s Home Association as its EMBRACE beneficiary. The home is a welfare organization that accepts children from troubled families, which mainly only have a single-parent with financial or physical challenges.

The resort’s goals for the home's children are simply to empower them so they can integrate into society when they leave the home and, most importantly, give them the skills that will help them break out from the cycle of poverty.

Getting the Basics Right   
To date, the resort has conducted a Fire Life Safety programme to create a fire escape route and educate the children on safety escape procedures. In addition, the resort has also held a food hygiene programme to give the house's parents and caregivers information on the proper food safety and handling procedures.

Over the years, the resort has made structural upgrades to the home, such as building cabinets and storage space. In line with the hotel’s energy saving measures, plans are also being made to replace the home's fluorescent lights with energy efficient bulbs.

Fun Learning
In partnership with Uplands International School, the children of the home are now attending swimming lessons at the school’s swimming pool. Swimming is a basic life skill that the children would otherwise miss out on. Other programmes that have been held include the 12-week Arts & Crafts Course, the Outward Bound School Camp and the Recycling Programme.

The resort's upcoming projects include an “Internet Safety”course to prevent the home's children from being victims of cyber-crimes and an 8-session series titled “Building Champions” that covers important life areas, such as learning how to use public transport, interpersonal interaction skills, grooming and personal hygiene, budgeting money and learning to save, which the children must fully understand before they graduate from the home.

Volunteerism
Staff are encouraged to volunteer their time and impart their knowledge and skills to the children. Staff volunteers have also initiated and driven their own projects for the home with support and assistance from the Corporate Social Responsibility Manager. During the fasting month of Ramadhan, the resort's colleagues initiated a “BukaPuasa” (breaking fast) at the home and helped the children with their arts and crafts.

Lend your support
You can support the home through donations or spending time with the children and imparting crucial life skills. For more details, please contact our Corporate Social Responsibility department at (604) 888 8888.

Apart from assisting Penang Shah Children’s Home Association, the resort is also actively involved in facilitating lifesaving surgical procedures for children born with congenital heart defects.

Under the ‘Embrace Gift of Life’ Programme, the resort had made the lives of babies and small children brighter by sponsoring corrective heart surgery for truly deserving individuals. Until December 2016, the resort had contributed RM522,384 to 17 children over the past 4 years since 2012. In collaboration with medical partners Gleneagles Penang Medical Centre, National Heart Institute and Penang Adventist Hospital, the resort had played a proactive role in granting children born with heart defects a fresh start in life and brighter future.